* u c c c ‘ Motor Vehicle Advisory Bulletin:

TEXAS OFFICE oFf CONSUMER | Documentary Fee Filing Instructions
CREDIT COMMISSIONER

This bulletin describes the requirements for motor vehicle documentary fee filings under
Chapter 348 of the Texas Finance Code. It addresses five issues:

A. General requirements for Chapter 348 documentary fees

How to notify the OCCC of a documentary fee over $150

How to view documentary fee filing history

How to reprint an e-mailed notification from the OCCC

How to provide a cost analysis to the OCCC for a documentary fee over $150

moo®

A. General requirements for Chapter 348 documentary fees

The legal requirements for Chapter 348 documentary fees are located in Texas Finance Code,
Section 348.006 (recently amended by HB 2949 (2017)), and the OCCC's rule on documentary
fees at Texas Administrative Code, Title 7, Section 84.205.

e $150orless: A seller is not required to provide a notification or cost analysis to the
OCCC before charging a documentary fee of $150 or less.

e Over $150: Before charging a documentary fee greater than $150, a seller must provide
both a notification and a cost analysis to the OCCC.

B. How to notify the OCCC of a documentary fee over $150

Before charging a documentary fee greater than $150, a seller must provide a written
notification to the OCCC, stating the amount of the documentary fee that the seller intends to
charge. A seller may not charge a documentary fee higher than the filed amount. Sellers can
increase their documentary fee amount by providing a new notification.

NOTE: A seller must provide a notification for each licensed location or registered office
where motor vehicles are sold.

The OCCC accepts documentary fee filings through the OCCC’s Application Licensing
Examination Compliance System (ALECS). We only accept documentary fee filings through
ALECS. We encourage your dealership to link your ALECS account if you have not done so
already and you intend to submit a documentary fee filing.

OCCC Documentary Fee Filing Instructions (Bulletin B16-5, Rev. Sept. 5, 2017) Page 1 of 8



To send a documentary fee notification to the OCCC, follow these steps:

Step 1: Go to ALECS.OCCC.TEXAS.GOV and log into ALECS with your user ID and password. If you do

not have an ALECS account, please click Sign Up on the top right corner and follow the
directions to link your business.

Sign Up

Advanced Search

0 2601 N. Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78705
CREDIT COMMISSIONER : , o

Welcome to ALECS
The Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner's (OCCC)
Application Licensing Examination Compliance System User Name

Login

The OCCCis pleased to provide this online licensing portal for its regulated industries. Befare you
¢ begin, ensure you have reviewed state statutes and administrative rules and licensing requirements

associated with your business operations. Primary statutes and rules are located within the OCCC's
Credit Industry Services pages.

Password

ALECS allows you to:
= Apply for 2 new license

= Add an additional licensed location or registered office Create Online Account?
= Amend an existing license

Forgot Password?

OCCC Home / State of Te

Records and Information Locator) /
Information Resources / Sul

Finance Commission / Department of

Privacy Policy / Fraud Policy / Accessibility Policy / Open Records Req
Build Number‘ 11142015.01

Step 2: Click on MANAGE MY BUSINESS on the left hand column.

Advanced Search
TEXAS OFFK NSUMER
CREDIT COMMISSIONER

Welcome user Sign Out
Master # : 1234567

‘Welcome Licensee!

You have 0 Request(s) sent to OCCC, 0 Pending Action(s) to take and 0 My Business Transactions(s) in progress.
To see more information, click on a tab of your choice below, and then dlick on the line item.

E’ Submit Application Clicla ere to see the details an your Master File

m Eiarane iy Huteies My Pending Actions SRV =TEITEES ‘ My Businass Transactions My Recent Activity | My Pending Fee

£ Notifications + J/Lic Number Business Type i Business Sub Type Business Location Zip Code

Motor Vehicle Sales .
License c Austin, TX 78705 X3¢ 30000
Finance
our security. the back button on your browser has been dis
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Step 3: Click the Doc FEe FILING button.

Master # : 1234567 Manage My Business

(&) Dashboard

Master License

1 Manage Profile

Update Mailing Details Activate License Inactivate License

E. Submit Application

mManage My Business Update Compliance Details Renew License Renstate License

&2 Notifications

Principal Transaction Surrender License Modify License Location

History

Update Statutory Agent Update License DBA Change RO to LL

Update Entity Name Update Location Contact Doc Fee Filing

Withdraw Application Print License

Step 4: Select the license(s) for which you want to apply the new documentary fee. Enter the
required information in the fields below and click SusmiT NEw Doc Fee. Note: The
Implementation Date is the date when you intend to start charging the new
documentary fee. Tex. Fin. Code §348.006(e) requires a retail seller to file first before
charging the new documentary fee.

Master # : 1234567 New Doc Fee Filing

(&) Dashboard * Mandatory Fields

Reasonable
Amount

Filing

= Imp
X Manage Profile Date

Date

| 123 Lamar
B Submit Application = Blvd

m Manage My Business Displaying items 1 - 1 of 1

&= Notifications Imp Date = Implementation Date
Please enter the new documentary fee for the selected list of licenses:

History

New Documentary Fee (8)*

Contact Name *

Contact Email

Re-enter Contact Email

Contact Phona Number *

Implementation Date

Received Date - XRARR KKK

Submit New Doc Fee & Third:
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Step 5: If your filing was submitted successfully, you will receive an email notification and you
should see the following screen:

Master # : 1234567

(X)) Dashboard
(&) Dashboar Your Doc Fee filing has been submitted successfully

2 Manage Profile

Go Back to Doc Fee Filing ll Go To Dashboard

m Manage My Business

C. How to view documentary fee filing history

Step 1: Click on the My BusINESS tab on the welcome screen.

Advanced Search
TEXAS OFFICE of CONSUMER
CREDIT COMMISSIONER
Master # : 1234567 Dashboard

Welcome User Sign Out

@ ushan Welcome Licensee!

You have 0 Request(s) sent to OCCC, 0 Pending A
l Manage Profile To see more information, click on a tab of your chd

E’ Submit Application Click here to see tha details on your Master File

m N T T My New Requests | My Pending Actions ERNIE=NEGEES | My Business Transactions My Recent Activity My Pending Fee

) to take and O My Business Transactions(s) in progress.
bw. and then click on the line item.

% Notifications Reg/Lic Number Business Type Business Status Business Sub Type Business Location Zip Code Renewed Dat
Motor Vehicle sales 2
12345 License Active 5 Austin, TX 78705 1x 30 o0
istory Finance
= i Displaying items L - 1 of 1
L
Qe
For your security, the back button on your browser has been disabled and will not work on any page in this website.

Step 2: Click anywhere on the license information above to proceed. The cursor should look

like this{n}.

Note: If there is more than one license under the master file, you will have to repeat
these steps from the beginning for each license to view its filing history.
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Step 3: Click on the Doc Fee tab to go to the filing history.

Master # : 1234567

License Details

(&) Dashboard License Info Doc Fee

-l Manage Profile License Int

Business Location Information

B Submit Application License # 12345 License Status Active
Type Of License Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Canceled Date

m ManadeMy Husines Location Type License Location Revokeded Date

=& Notifications Original License Date T — Surrendered Date
Last Renewal Date 2300 X XK Address Line 1 123 Lamar

The filing history will look like the following:

Master 34567 License Details
(&) Dashboard Documents Info Doc Fee

1 Wanage Profile

Export To Excel

_ Filing Date Implementation Date Reasonable Amount
D._ Submit Application

D. How to reprint an e-mailed notification from the OCCC

Step 1: Click on NoTIFICATIONS on the left hand column of the welcome screen.

Advanced Search

Welcome User Sign Out
Master # = 1234567

(&) Dashboard Welcome Licensee!

You have 0 Request(s) sent to OCCC, 0 Pending Action(s) to take and 0 My Business Transactions(s) in progress.

1 Manage Profile Tao see more information, click on a tab of your choice below, and then click on the line item,

[} Submit Application Click here to see the details on your Master File

288 Manage My Business

&% Notifications Business Status Business Sub Type Business Location

Motor Vehicle Sales
. License
History

Austin, TX 78705
Finance

Displaying items 1 - 1of 1
»

o ik i
OF your security

r has been disabled and will not work on any

age in this website,
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Step 2: Locate the documentary fee filing transaction you want, and click View under the
AcTION column.

Mail Notifications

(&) Dashboard Reg/Lic Number Self Transaction

X Manage profile

79 12345 300/ % x00c View

Filing Submission

Documentary Fee Document Fea ‘

Step 3: Click the PRINT button.

Master # : 1224567 Mail Content

(&) Dashboard Subject ent Fee

-EJocce

TEXAS OFFICE oF CONSUMER
CREDIT COMMISSIONER

1 Manage profile Body

D Submit Application

m Manage My Business

History
oo oex
. [License Number(s): 12345 ]
@ rorms [Doc Fee: $150.00]

We have received the submission of your notice with the
0 Help maximum amount of documentary fee that you intend to charge.

Thank you for your submission.

If you believe that you have received this email in error, please contact
0CCC by email at info@occc.state.tx.us; or by phone at 512-936-7600.
Please do not reply to this email, as this mailbox is not monitored.

Thank you,

Administrator,
0CCC e-Governance

El E4m

E. How to provide a cost analysis to the OCCC for a documentary fee over $150

If you file for a documentary fee over $150, you will need to provide the OCCC with a cost
analysis that supports the documentary fee. The OCCC will review the amount of the fee and
the cost analysis for reasonableness.

You can provide the cost analysis by responding to a request for information (RFI) from the
OCCC. After you send a notification listing a documentary fee over $150, you will receive an e-
mail asking you to log into ALECS to respond to the RFI. The requested information will be cost

justification materials to support your filing.

To respond to an RFI, please see the following instructions:
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Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3:

To check for an RFI, click My PENDING AcTIONS tab on the welcome screen.

(&) Dashboard

Welcome Licensee!
You have 0 Requestis) sent to 1 Pending Action(s) to take and 0 My Business Transactions(s) in progress.
l Manage Profile i ion, bb of your choice below, and then click on the line item.

B Submit Application

My Business My Business Transactions My Recent Activity | My Pending Fee

m Manage My Business

Assigned To

&= Notifications
93 Documentary Fee Filing Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Please read the attached letter.

Zf 1 Displaying items 1 - 1 of 1

Click anywhere on the filing information above to proceed. The cursor should look like

this@.

Review information under the following headings: AcTioN NOTES, DESCRIPTION, and
DOCUMENT DETAILS.

Master # : 1234567 New Doc Fee Filing - Request For More Information

(&) Dashboard Doc Fee Filing Details

Business Name:ARC Cars Filing Date: ©5/20/2016
J_ Manage Profile MF Num: 1234567 Implementation Date: 6/27/2016
Due Date: 7/11/2016

License Numbers: Export To Excel

12345 Active $151.00

E. Submit Application
m Manage My Business

=4 Notifications

Displaying items 1 - L of 1

Action Notes:

Please read the attached letter,

Description: port To
Deficiency Heading Deficiency Description Action By Action Date
Need More Information Cost Materials Required. 6/27/2016 2:34:36 PM
20 1 Displaying items 1- 1 of 1
Document Details:
Document Name Uploaded Date
6_27_2016 2_34 36 PM_Letterdocx 6/27/2016 2:34:36 PM L
| 1 Displaying items 1 - 1 of 1

Download All

User Response

User Comments ‘

(Maximum of 500 characters)

Supporting Documents
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Under DocuMeNT DETAILS, you can click the DOwNLOAD ALL button to download all files
listed or you can click on each item to download them individually.

Step 4: To provide the requested information, enter comments into the UsSER COMMENTS section

then click the SELECT button to upload documents. When done uploading documents,

click the SusmiT button. If your response was submitted successfully, you should see
the following screen:

Your response has been submitted

Go to Dashboard

OCCC Documentary Fee Filing Instructions (Bulletin B16-5, Rev. Sept. 5, 2017) Page 8 of 8



